To open a record for editing (e.g. correcting a typing mistake or adding research notes) just double-click on the individual reference in the list of references.
To delete one or more references, select the reference(s) in the list (use a single mouse click) then use the Delete key on your keyboard.
Alternatively, use the References menu > Move References to Trash
All deleted references are moved to the Trash folder in EndNote and can still be restored (see below) until you manually empty the Trash folder.
It is possible to edit a reference in the Reference tab of the Preview Panel.
However, be careful, these changes will not be saved until you press Ctrl+S (Cmd+S on a Mac) - S for Save. Alternatively, use the File menu > Save.
If you close down EndNote after making changes here, your changes might not get saved. (EndNote should ask you about saving any changes if you close the program, but it's too easy to close that box without realising what it is really asking).
Alternatively, if you click on another record in the list (and you have not turned off that irritating pop-up box that asks you about saving all the time), EndNote should ask you if you want to save your changes. Choose Yes.
Deleted references go into the Trash folder. From here it is very easy to restore them to the main library.
1. Change to the Trash folder by clicking it (once) in the left-hand-side folder area.
2. Click once to select and highlight the record to restore.
A. Use the References menu > Restore to Library,
B. Right-click on the record and select Restore to Library from the pop-up menu.