Subject Guides: Nursing: Quick Links

Quick Links

Don't Panic!
Ask the Library

(Librarians love questions!)

QuickSearch

(Like Google for Library resources)

FedCite

(online referencing guide)

Federation Library contact page with phone number
Telephone

Federation Library email
Email

Federation Library frequently asked questions, ask the Library system, and live chat
Ask the Library

Oh, and did you see the Need help? tab on the side of the page?
Live online chat with the Library! Live chat is available during Library opening hours.
If online chat is not available, you can fill out our Ask the Library form and get a response by the end of the next working day.

QuickSearch: Search for any Library content (online or on the shelf)

A separate web page with lots of examples, instructions, and tips on citing and referencing.

When you use FedCite, to get started, click on your style.
Click to expand any section ending with a

Go to FedCite

Key databases for finding journal articles and conference papers

Key databases for your discipline:

(See the page Finding journal articles to learn how to use these databases)

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text journal articles in nursing & allied health fields, providing full text internally for more than 1,300 journals and links out to full text for many others.
Emcare (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Emcare, produced by Elsevier, covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Emcare includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine.
JBI (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Resources for evidence-based research including Best Practice information sheets, systematic reviews and electronic journals and conference papers.
(Formerly known as Joanna Briggs Institute.)
This version, via the Ovid interface, should be faster for most users.
eMIMSelite (MIMS) This link opens in a new window
eMIMSelite (previously MIMS) is designed to meet the unique demands of contemporary healthcare professionals. It features a dynamic platform that offers seamless access to the latest and most relevant medicine-related information. The platform has an intuitive user interface, making navigation and information access easy. Medicines information is presented in a standardized and easy-to-use format. Patient care information and clinical tools are placed at your ﬁngertips, helping you make more conﬁdent and safer clinical decisions.

The library has a license for 5 users so if you can’t access MIMS try again later.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Nursing Education in Video This link opens in a new window
A unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board.
PsycINFO (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains 1 million+ citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. Includes information about the psychological aspects of other disciplines such as medicine, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, business, and law. Journal coverage spans from 1887 to present, and more than 1,700 international journals.
Therapeutic Guidelines This link opens in a new window
Therapeutic Guidelines is a leading source of independent, evidence-based, practical treatment advice to assist practitioners with decision making at the point-of-care. Therapeutic Guidelines are regularly updated, based on the latest international literature, interpreted by Australia’s most respected experts, with input from an extensive network of general practitioners, pharmacists and other users.

Click here for more Library databases related to Nursing, health, and allied fields

Medical terminology

Medical terminology can seem complex and hard to understand. The dictionaries below are available as e-books, and you can look up medical terms in them to help your nursing study.

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by Donald Venes
ISBN: 9781719642859
Publication Date: 2021-02-17
Mastering Medical Terminology by Sue Walker; Maryann Wood; Jenny Nicol
ISBN: 9780729541114
Publication Date: 2012-11-15
A Dictionary of Nursing by Jonathan Law (Editor); Tanya A. McFerran
ISBN: 9780198864646
Publication Date: 2021-07-20

Librarians and Learning Skills Advisers and ASK students, oh my!

Librarians

Can help with: finding material for your assessment tasks or research; referencing; bibliographic management (e.g. EndNote); researcher IDs; keeping up to date with research alerts

Erin Roga, Berwick

Myles Strous, Gippsland

Karen Pruis, Mt Helen & Wimmera

Contact the Library:

During opening hours:
- Phone: 1300 552 567
- Live chat (see the Need help? tab on the side of this page)
Any time
- Ask the Library online form (email reply by the end of the next business day)

Peer Support Desk

Senior students who can help with: academic writing, research, and general all-around study skills.

Contact the Peer Support Desk

Learning Skills Advisers

Can help with: essay writing, writing for other types of assessment tasks (reports, case studies, annotated bibliographies), thesis writing, referencing, study skills, exam preparation.

Talia Barrett,
Based at Mt Helen

Daniel North,
Based at Berwick

Contact a Learning Skills Adviser

Nursing