Federation.figshare

Go to My Data, then navigate to the Projects tab and click on ‘+ Create a new project’. Complete the metadata fields as descriptively as possible. If this project is for individual use, select the individual option under Allocate storage. To use group storage, select the group option and find the relevant group.

Add users to the project by searching on the right hand side. Add users not currently on Figshare by clicking on the invite new users’ link. Users can either be collaborators or viewers. Collaborators can comment on the project and the files within it and upload items, while viewers can only view the files. To make the project public, you must first make at least one item within the project public. The project owner, collaborators, and viewers cannot edit another uploader’s items. Items must be downloaded, edited, and re-uploaded to the project.

The project manager is the creator of the project and can invite new members into the project. The project manager also determines who is a collaborator or viewer (see How do I invite people to join a project?),and can also remove members from the project.

From the draft project page you can invite people (on the right hand side) by searching for their full name or ORCID, or by clicking on ‘invite new users’ (recommended).

When you click on ‘invite new users’ a box appears for you to fill in the person’s name, email address and their role  in the project.

There are two roles:

1. Viewers - these members can view uploads and  comments only.
2. Collaborators - these members can upload files, download other members’ files and make/view comments.

This is the recommended method as it avoids ambiguity between users with the same name.

Always select group storage for two reasons:

1. It doesn’t affect project members’ individual storage levels. For example, if you have an initial allocation of 10GB for personal use you can add 50GB to a project and still retain your 10GB of personal storage. This also applies to all project members.
2. When a project member leaves the group their files stay with the project and ownership changes to the project manager. If a former project member needs a copy of the files, the project manager can generate a private link to give access.

1. If the project has been set up with group allocation of storage, the ownership of files uploaded by a project member will transfer to the project manager allowing the project manager full access to modify the files.
2. If the project has been set up with individual allocation of storage, the ownership of the files stays with the project member meaning they take their files with them when they leave the project.

1. From the My data tab find the item/s you want to move into a project and tick the box to the left of the item (which will turn the box green).
2. Click on ‘Actions’, then click on ‘Move to/from project’. This will bring up a list of projects you are part of and give you the option to select one project to move the item/s into.
3. Select the project and click ‘Submit’.

You will receive an email from the project manager advising you of the name of the project you have been invited to. This will prompt you to login to Federation.figshare. When you login  there will be a message in your Activity tab asking you to ‘Join project’ or ‘Decline’. Once you have joined the project it will appear in your Projects tab.

Go to the Collections tab under My Data. Complete the mandatory fields to make the collection public. Click Save changes once you’ve completed the form.

There are two ways to add files to a Collection.

1. Once you’ve created the Collection, select Add public items or My data. If you select from public items, you can search and select the items you wish to add to your collection. The same process applies if you choose from your files. You can also filter by Federation University files in Federation.figshare. 
   
   
    
2. If you find a public item you wish to add to a Collection, simply select +Collect and choose the Collection to add it to.
   

Once you’ve collected your files, you can make your Collection public by selecting the Manage gear wheel on the right side of the screen and selecting Publish collection. Once you’ve published a collection, the Collection is permanent.

After you have clicked on ‘+ Create a new item’ and opened the publication form scroll to the bottom of the page.

Click on ‘Share with private link’ to create a URL that gives users access to the content you have included in this item.

You can create a private link to a file, to a link file or to a metadata only record.

The private link can be shared with anyone whether they have a Figshare account or not.

Once your collaborators have downloaded the files you have shared with them go back to the publication form. Placing your cursor on the cross above the link will make the word ‘disable’ appear. Clicking this will then ask you to confirm that you are about to disable the link. Clicking ‘Yes, disable’ will permanently disable the link.

No, once a link is disabled you can still generate a private link, however this is a new link, so the URL will be different.