Victorian Collections is a website that celebrates the diversity of collections held in the state of Victoria, Australia. As well as offering a free collections management system for collecting organisations in Victoria, it is a platform for all to discover more about our state through easy access to collection items and collection-based stories. It offers a searchable digital archive of over 250,000 items held by galleries, museums, libraries, archives, historical societies and cultural collections across Victoria.
Click on the blue buttons below to discover how to browse and search the collections:
The Collections tab allows you to explore the online records of museum, gallery, library, archive objects. Browse by popular topic, item type or school topic.
The Stories tab is a teaching resource with curated online exhibitions on a wide range of topics, combining short films, images and text on a particular topic. Browse by theme, school topic or most recently-created stories; you can also create your own curated exhibition.
To start a broad search of Victorian Collections visit the homepage and select the search icon in the top menu.
You can then enter your keywords to begin your search.
Within the Victorian Collections website are individual collections that you can search through, for example the Federation University Historical Collection.
You can find a specific collection searching by:
The home page of each collection will provide information about the organisation, contact details, and what items they have online.
To search within an individual collection, go to the organisation page through the links above, then scroll down until you find the Items featured online search bar.
  |
Federation University Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the lands and waters where our campuses, centres and field stations are located and we pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and First Nations Peoples. |