Trove is a search engine created by the National Library of Australia in collaboration with many partner organisations across Australia. It provides access to over 6 billion records, much of which is freely available online.
Among its contents are full-text digitised copies of Australian Newspapers and Government Gazettes, mostly dating between 1803 and 1954. To date, over 24.5 million newspaper pages have been digitised.
Use the link below to browse the Newspaper collection by place, title, date or category:
The collections includes many Victorian newspaper titles, including the Age (1854-1954), the Argus (1848- 1957), the Herald (1861-1954), the Ballarat Courier (1869-1886; 1914-1918), the Ballarat Star (1865-1924) and the Gippsland Times (1861-1954).
Find out more about Trove's Newspaper and Gazettes collection:
Enter your search term(s) in the Trove search bar and select "Newspapers & Gazettes" from the "All categories" drop-down menu.
You can then refine your results using the filters on the right-hand side of your results page by:
Alternatively, you can select the Advanced Search option:
Trove's viewer controls allow you to navigate, zoom, resize and rotate. You can also jumo to the next or previous article, and use the sidebar tools to create a citation, add a tag or note to an article, or add it to a list.
For more detailed instructions, see the link below:
If you are looking for historical newspapers from overseas, or Australian content not included in Trove, try the following options:
The State Library of Victoria offers online access to many historical newspaper from Australia and around the world. Their newspaper databases are freely accessible by Victorian residents with Access Membership.
Find about how to access these resources by clicking on the link below:
The SLV's guide to finding items in newspapers provides useful advice on how to find articles, personal notices, images and more.
Australian residents living outside Victoria can also access many historical Australian and International newspaper databases by registering for membership.
This database covers over 700 Australian newspapers. Coverage for some titles is mostly very recent, however some content dates back to the 1990s (eg the Age 1991-current) so may be useful when researching more recent time periods than those covered by Trove.
  |
Federation University Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the lands and waters where our campuses, centres and field stations are located and we pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and First Nations Peoples. |
