Subject Guides: History: Finding primary sources

How to find Primary Sources

Early experiences in Australasia: Primary sources and personal narratives 1788-1901

This database includes thousands of unique documents including letters, diaries, and photographs, covering the early Australasian experience from the arrival of the first settlers through to Australian Federation at the close of the nineteenth century:

Early experiences in Australasia This link opens in a new window
Early Experiences in Australasia ... provides a unique and personal view of events in the region from the arrival of the first settlers through to Australian Federation at the close of the nineteenth century. Through first-person accounts, including letters and diaries, narratives, and other primary source materials, we are able to hear the voices of the time and understand the experiences of those who took the great challenge in new lands. From the earliest settlers to convicts and free settlers and those who later answered the call of the Gold Rush, these letters and diaries tell us about life on ships and in settlements in a particularly intimate way.

Finding primary sources in QuickSearch

To find primary source materials in the Library's collections, along with secondary sources which include primary source content, try an advanced search which combines the subject headings "sources" and "history" with your chosen topic(s).

Use the drop-down "Any field" menus to select the Subject option:

The bibliographies of secondary sources, such as books and journal articles, can also be a useful means of identifying relevant primary sources. In some cases, these may be freely accessible online. Contact the Library if you would like help with finding suitable primary source collections.

Primary Source websites

There are many collections of primary source materials which are freely-available online.

Visit the following pages in this guide for links to significant Australian Primary Source collections:

State Library of Victoria

The State Library of Victoria (SLV) collections include a wealth of primary source materials. The following guides are a great starting point for exploring these collections: