Skip to Main Content

Master of Child and Family Health: Annotated bibliography

What is an annotated bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is a very short summary and evaluation of an article, book or book chapter that you have read. When set as an assignment, an annotated bibliography allows you to become more familiar with material published on a particular topic. Depending on the assessment, your purpose for writing an annotated bibliography may be to:

  • review the literature of a particular subject;
  • demonstrate the quality and depth of reading that you have done;
  • show the range of sources available—such as journals, books, web sites and magazine articles;
  • highlight sources that may be of interest to other readers and researchers;
  • explore and organise sources for further research. 

Writing an annotated bibliography

Writing an annotated bibliography entry requires you to be extremely succinct and clear. You must read the article carefully and ensure that you have articulated the author’s main points, research findings, evidence adduced and conclusions reached.

Structure

An annotated bibliography generally includes five parts:

A full citation of the source (using APA 7th referencing style). A general statement about the author’s purpose for writing the source. A short summary of the content. An evaluation of the content. Reflection on the usefulness of the content.

Study skills

The study skills website has more detailed information about annotated bibliographies.

ABN 51 818 692 256 | CRICOS provider number 00103D | RTO code 4909 | TEQSA PRV12151 Australian University
the flag of the Aboriginal Peoples of Australia, designed by Harold Thomas in 1971   the flag of the Torres Strait Islander People of Australia, designed by Bernard Namok in 1992, copyright the Torres Strait Island Regional Council   
Federation University Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the lands and waters where our campuses, centres and field stations are located and we pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and First Nations Peoples.