The TRC is a collection of educational material that is especially useful for lesson planning and for use in the classroom during student placement in schools. This collection contains resources in a range of formats, e.g. books, DVDs, CDs and objects (known as Realia), and includes:
Resources relating to educational theory and pedagogy are shelved in the Library's main collection, rather than in the Teaching Resource Collection.
The Realia Collection consists of real-life objects that can be used as props or learning aids in the classroom. Due to their size and shape, these items are shelved separately from other items in the Teaching Resource Collection.
Our Realia Collection includes resources such as:
You can find Teaching Resource and Realia Collections at these campus libraries: Berwick, Gippsland, Mt Helen, SMB and Wimmera.
Ask our Library staff if you need help finding items in these collections.
Nothing beats visiting the Library and seeing for yourself the wide range of resources to inspire your teaching practice.
Find your local campus library.
Click on the buttons below to find out how to browse the collections using QuickSearch or the Library catalogue:
You can use QuickSearch to browse particular types of resource in the Collection, such as big books, picture books or realia.
The Catalogue allows you to look at resources held in a specific collection - in this case, Teacher resources.
| Browse picture books | Browse children's books | Browse big books | Browse curriculum resources |
| Browse realia | Browse reading packs | Browse posters & maps | Browse VCE resources |
To browse a particular theme within one of the above resource types, click on the relevant green button above, and then add an additional search term to the search bar. Then, click on the "Search" button.
For example:
You can search for items held in the Teaching Resource Collection using QuickSearch which you'll find on the Library homepage
You can search by Title or Author if you know these details, or you can perform a general Keyword search.
Click on the buttons below for guidance on searching by title, author or keyword:
When you are looking for a specific resource, such as a particular picture book, type in the full title of the book in double quotation marks.
Next, click on the magnifying glass item to run your search.
Click on the title of the item you are looking for to access the full record.
This will bring up more details, such as the Call Number and the availability of the item at each campus library.
Remember that you can request a copy from another branch or one that is currently on loan.
Enter the author's name using the format Family name, Given names(s).
Then follow the same steps as for a title search to access the full record of the required item.
This example shows how to find Realia items using keywords and filters.
Start by entering your keyword(s) into the QuickSearch search bar. Use OR to combine related or alternative terms.
Next, click on the magnifying glass item to run your search.
Now locate the Resource type limiter on the right-hand side of your results. Select Show More to see the full list of options.
You now have a list of relevant realia items about counting or mathematics. You can still add further limits - maybe by topic or library location.
Click on an item for a more detailed description, or to find out the Call Number, which will help you to locate the item on the shelf.
You don't have to be an Education student to borrow items from the TRC or Realia Collections.
TRC items can be borrowed using the self-checkout machines or at the InfoPoint. Larger items or kits containing multiple items may require staff assistance. TRC items can be returned to any Federation University campus library.
If an item is held at a campus library that is not your home library, place a hold on the item, select your preferred pickup location, and the item will be transferred to that preferred location and await your collection from the hold shelf.
Almost all books and other physical items can be requested for inter-campus delivery. However, there are a few items that cannot be sent by standard delivery because of their size or fragility. If this is the case, Library staff will contact you to discuss options.
You can request postal delivery of most items when you place a hold on that item. The request will be processed and the item/s posted to your specified address.
Most books and other physical items can be sent by post. However, there are some items that cannot be posted because of their size, shape or fragility. If this is the case, Library staff will contact you to discuss options.
  |
Federation University Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the lands and waters where our campuses, centres and field stations are located and we pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and First Nations Peoples. |