Subject Guides: Occupational Therapy: Useful resources

Useful resources

Partner students - please contact your local institution library to access copies of prescribed textbooks.

Hand and Wrist Rehabilitation by Grégory Mesplié
ISBN: 9783319163185
Publication Date: 2015
Handbook of Vocational Rehabilitation and Disability Evaluation by Reuben Escorpizo (Editor); Sören Brage (Editor); Debra Homa (Editor); Gerold Stucki (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319088259
Publication Date: 2014
International Handbook of Occupational Therapy Interventions by Ingrid Söderback (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319081410
Publication Date: 2014
Kielhofner's Research in Occupational Therapy by Renee R. Taylor
ISBN: 9780803640375
Publication Date: 2017
Occupational therapy for older people by Christian Pozzi, Alessandro Lanzoni, Maud J. L. Graff, Alessandro Morandi
ISBN: 9783030357313
Publication Date: 2020
Occupational Therapy for People Experiencing Illness, Injury or Impairment by Michael Curtin (Editor); Jo Adams (Editor); Mary Egan (Editor)
Call Number: 615.8515 O157T 2017
ISBN: 9780702054464
Publication Date: 2017-02-13
Occupational Therapy in Mental Health by Catana Brown; Virginia C. Stoffel; Jaime Munoz
ISBN: 9780803659162
Publication Date: 2019-02-05
Safe at Home with Assistive Technology by Ingrid Kollak
ISBN: 9783319428901
Publication Date: 2017-01-06

ACESSSS
A service to help provide current best evidence for clinical decisions. It conducts searches simultaneously in several evidence-based information services (online evidence-based texts, evidence-based guidelines and pre-appraised journal publications). ACCESSSS also provides email alerts to newly published evidence in the user’s chosen area(s) of training/interest.
Evidence Alerts
EvidenceAlerts is an Internet service that notifies physicians and researchers about newly-published clinical studies. Researchers at the McMaster Health Information Unit find the highest quality studies, reviews, and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines from 121 premier clinical journals and these articles are rated by practicing physicians for clinical relevance and interest. Alerts are curated to your own clinical interests.
My NCBI
The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
OTseeker
A database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Most trials have been critically appraised for their validity and interpretability.
PEDro
Physiotherapy Evidence Database, a free database of over 46,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice.
NeuroBITE
NeuroBITE (previously PsycBITE) is a database that catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI). These studies are rated for their methodological quality, evaluating various aspects of scientific rigour.
REHAB+
Pre-appraised evidence to support your clinical decisions.
speechBITE
A database of intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice.
SUMsearch
Search Pubmed for studies, systematic reviews and guidelines

Trip Database This link opens in a new window
Online since 1997, Trip (formerly Turning Research Into Practice) is a search engine for quickly finding high-quality health research evidence to support and inform clinical practice.

Occupational Therapy Australia
Occupational Therapy Board of Australia
Occupational Therapy: Helping Children
World Federation of Occupational Therapists
Rayyan
Free web application to help systematic review authors. Mobile version available to screen reviews, also works while offline.
RevMan 5
Online and desktop app for working with systematic (and other) reviews. Free for academic use, paid use requires a licence fee.

30 public domain image websites
A list of websites curating free public domain images and high quality stock photography that can be freely used by anyone worldwide
Everystockphoto
A search engine for free photos
Flickr Commons
Visual treasures from the world's public photography archives
Gratisography
Free high-resolution pictures
Morguefile
Over 350,000 of free stock photos for commercial use
Pexels
A collection of free stock photos
Pixabay
Over 970,000 of free stock photos
Unsplash
Free high-resolution photos
Wikimedia Commons
A collection of millions of freely usable media files (ensure you check licensing for each image)

Occupational Therapy: standards, codes, and guidelines

Australian occupational therapy competency standards
The competency standards outline professional behaviours all occupational therapists should demonstrate to practise safely and ethically. They affect occupational therapists working across all practice settings, including research, education, management and other roles not involving direct contact with clients.
Occupational therapy codes and guidelines
The Occupational Therapy Board of Australia has developed codes and guidelines to guide the profession. These also help to clarify the Board’s views and expectations on a range of issues.

Legislation, regulations, etc.

Acts are the actual laws, passed by parliament. Bills are possible laws under discussion, not yet official law.

Most of the others (codes, regulations, orders, ordinances, etc) are rules on how an act or acts will be interpreted and enforced, and may be made by parliament or by the appropriate authorised roles or institutions empowered by an act.

Federal Register of Legislation
Commonwealth Acts, Rules, Regulations, Notifiable Instruments, and more.
Victorian Legislation
Acts, Bills, and Statutory rules

Australian Standards and Codes

Building Code of Australia online This link opens in a new window
The Building Code of Australia (BCA) provides essential technical regulations for the design and construction of buildings, and as a national performance-based document it establishes a uniform approach to building regulation in every State and Territory in the country. The BCA covers such topics as structure, fire resistance, health and amenity, building access and egress, & building services and equipment. Access provided by SAIGlobal i2i platform.
Intertek Inform (formerly SAI Global) - Standards online premium This link opens in a new window
Intertek Inform, (formerly SAI Global) provides access to Standards, legislative and property publications; auditing; product and management system certification; supply chain management; compliance, ethics and governance solutions; training and improvement solutions through the i2i platform.

*Note: It is HIGHLY recommended that you download Standards rather than view online as usage is limited to a 2 user concurrent licenses (i.e. only two simultaneous users). Automatic log-out occurs after 8 minutes of inactivity.

See the Library subject guide on Australian Standards and the Building Code of Australia.
Accessing Australian standards requires Acrobat Reader (available in the Software Center for ITS-maintained computers) the default Global Object Security Policy for Adobe Acrobat Reader will also have to be disabled to view downloaded standards. Further information about downloading Standards and disabling GOSP can be found via Intertek Digital Rights Management (DRM) - Vitrium.
All Australian Standards are available in full text. Also indexes ISO and IEC standards, but only provides full-text of specifically ordered standards.