Skip to main content

Australian Standards and Building Code of Australia: Australian Standards

Accessing Australian Standards Online

Two users can be logged into Australian Standards Online at any one time. If both licences are in use, a View Users icon will display instead of the usual View Document icon. In this case, come back later if you wish to print.

There are a few paths to access the Standards, here is one:

 

1. Go to Federation University Library at federation.edu.au/library

2. Select the Databases tab and Search by database A-Z list

3. Enter title search terms "Australian Standards Online" in the Find databases box or

4. Click on "A" and scroll down to the Australian Standards Online database link

 

SAI Global (Standards Australia International) provides access to Standards, legislative and property publications; auditing; product and management system certification; supply chain management; compliance, ethics and governance solutions; training and improvement solutions.

 

Searching Australian Standards Online

This is the default search screen where you can search on either the standard number, or the keywords, that appear in the standard’s title.

For example, the standard AS/NZS 1336 Recommended practices for occupational eye protection could be retrieved by:

  • standard number through entering 1336 and clicking on Search, or;
  • keyword in title through entering eye protection and clicking on Search

The Power Search option allows you to construct a more complex search when you have several different search criteria; for example, document type (standards, drafts, amendments), document status (current, withdrawn), full-text search or publication date.

This is a guided search option in which you can select the broad subject area that matches your topic and then follow the links to the sub-categories. It can be a useful way to identify further standards you may not be aware of in that particular subject area.

Search results

To view more detailed information about a standard when looking at a search result, select the title of the standard.

Often included is:

  • the status of the standards (e.g. current)
  • the publication date & number of pages
  • any standards it supersedes or any amendments to it

Viewing an Australian Standard

 

To view or download a document, you will need to register for an individual user account. Instructions can be found in the document below.

Click on the View Document icon, follow the steps to sign in or register, then click on Open Document to display, or Save File to download. 

  • Documents will be watermarked with business & user email address 
  • Documents are locked by user 
  • User can download, save & print document
  • Standards cannot be shared, uploaded to an intranet or sent to another user, as document is locked to initial user.

Limits to use - Please view the full Conditions of Use in SAI Global.
You may:

  • make paper copies of Standards supplied under this service for use within the licensed organization. These are licensed copies, intended for ad hoc internal use;
  • download electronic copies of Standards for temporary off-line purposes (5 days in total). These downloaded copies may not be used to build up a reference collection and are encoded with a predetermined expiry date, after which they cease to be accessible.

Contact the Library

Federation University Library Facebook

 

Federation University Library Twitter

 

Federation  University Library YouTube

Federation University Library contact page with phone number

 

Federation University Library email

 

Federation University Library frequently asked questions, ask the Library system, and live chat

 

Help and StandardsWatch

QuickSearch and Power Search screens have search help available, more technical help and troubleshooting tips can be found via the Online help link, from the left hand menu.

The StandardsWatch facility keeps you up to date with changes in standards. Users can create an account to receive a customised e-mail news service regarding nominated standards, or subject areas. Access StandardsWatch via the link from the left hand menu.

Logging Out

Please note

Please select the Subscription logout from the left hand menu when you have finished. You will be automatically logged out if the database has been idle for 20 minutes; in which case will need to log in again to continue.