Subject Guides: Australian Standards and Building Code of Australia: Building Code of Australia

Image via Canva under license

Building Code of Australia online This link opens in a new window
The Building Code of Australia (BCA) provides essential technical regulations for the design and construction of buildings, and as a national performance-based document it establishes a uniform approach to building regulation in every State and Territory in the country. The BCA covers such topics as structure, fire resistance, health and amenity, building access and egress, & building services and equipment. Access provided by SAIGlobal i2i platform.

Building Code of Australia (BCA) online
A guide to viewing and downloading Building Codes of Australia (BCA) standards online via the SAIGlobal i2i platform

Searching BCA

This is the default view for the BCA collection on the i2i platform. You will automatically be directed to the Collections tab which contains the BCA documents.

Scroll down to browse BCA documents or search by document number e.g AS/NZS 1720.4

Keyword search is not available in the collections tab. Please click on Standards tab to search by keyword or click on NCC to view both volumes of the National Construction Codes.

National Construction Codes (NCC)

By clicking on the NCC button in the top right hand menu bar you can access both volumes of the National Construction Codes.
Search – search by keyword or standard number

Volume 1 & 2 – Read the NCC or browse sections.

Referenced standards – a list of every Australian Standard referenced in the NCC from 2015. Click on the title to go to the standard summary page.

Archives – contains links to previous versions of the BCA.

Accessing BCA from the document summary page

Click on the title of the standard you wish to view to open the document summary page. You have two options for viewing standards:

Download

Preferred method. Click on the Download button and follow the prompts to download a PDF copy locked to your user account. You will need Adobe Acrobat installed.

View online

Click on the View Online button to view the standard in the online e-reader. No extra software is required but Google Chrome is the preferred browser. You cannot download from this view and can only print one page

No access

If the document is not available via the library subscription i2i will suggest either identical or equivalent standards from the AS collection.

Download instructions

Click on the title of the standard you wish to view.
Click yellow Download button.
The document is ready for download when the yellow bar is fully loaded and it says “Ready for download”
Click “Download document”.
If you have already installed Adobe Acrobat your download will begin. If not please install to view your document.

This is the preferred method for viewing and printing standards. The two-user limit is only activated when downloading or viewing standards in the online viewer.

Limits to use

Please view the full i2i Usage Terms and Conditions and Fair Use Policy

Be aware that:

Documents will be watermarked with business & user email address
Documents are locked by user
Only staff and students of Federation University can download, save & print document Standards cannot be shared, uploaded to an intranet or sent to another user, as document is locked to initial user.
Paper copies of standards cannot be distributed and are only provided to the original user.

Download electronic copies of Standards for temporary off-line purposes. These copies will remain on your computer for 1 year before expiring. Downloaded copies may not be used to build up a reference collection and are encoded with a predetermined expiry date, after which they cease to be accessible.