This guide is designed to link you to resources which will aid and support you in your teaching and research. It covers materials relevant to classroom teaching, regulatory requirements, professional development and personal wellbeing. If you are aware of other resources which you feel would be useful to include in this guide. please advise library staff by phone 1300 552 567 or the Ask the Library link on the library website.
|
|
|
|
||
|
|
|
|
Handbook of Research on Adult Learning in Higher Education by
In today's globalized world, professional fields are continually transforming to keep pace with advancing methods of practice. The theory of adult learning, specifically, is a subject that has seen new innovations and insights with the advancement of online and blended learning. Examining new principles and characteristics in adult learning is imperative, as emerging technologies are rapidly shifting the standards of higher education. The Handbook of Research on Adult Learning in Higher Education is a collection of innovative research on the methods and applications of adult education in residential, online, and blended course delivery formats. This book will focus on the impact that culture, globalization, and emerging technology currently has on adult education. While highlighting topics including andragogical principles, professional development, and artificial intelligence, this book is ideally designed for teachers, program developers, instructional designers, technologists, educational practitioners, deans, researchers, higher education faculty, and students seeking current research on new methodologies in adult education.
Teaching and Learning for Social Justice and Equity in Higher Education by
This book is the first of four edited volumes designed to reconceptualize teaching and learning in higher education through a critical lens, with this inaugural publication focusing on the fundamentals behind the experience. Chapter authors explore recent research on the cognitive science behind teaching and learning, dispel myths on the process, and provide updates to the application of traditional learning theories within the modern, diverse university. Through reviews of fundamental theories of teaching and learning, together with specific classroom practices, this volume applies social justice principles that have been traditionally seen as belonging to K-12 or adult education to higher education.
Gamification in Learning and Education by
This book explores the theoretical foundations of gamification in learning and education. It has become increasingly difficult to engage and motivate students. Gamification not only makes learning interesting, but also allows game players to solve problems and learn lessons through repeated attempts and failures. This "positive failure" can motivate students to attempt a difficult mission. Chapters in this volume cover topics such as the definition and characteristics of gamification, gamification in learning and education, theories, research on gamification, framework, strategy, and cases.
Technology and Innovation in Adult Learning by
A comprehensive exploration of technology's role in adult learning Technology and Innovation in Adult Learning introduces educators and students to the intersection of adult learning and the growing technological revolution. Written by an internationally recognized expert in the field, this book explores the theory, research, and practice driving innovation in both adult learning and learning technology, and illuminates a powerful approach to recognize and leverage these opportunities. Building on current trends and research in technology and its use, each chapter illustrates the need, opportunities, and examples of current and future technologies that scaffold adult learning, and provides comprehensive coverage of both current and emerging challenges. Many adult learning faculty, practitioners, and students realize that technology presents a growing and ever-present set of issues, yet few feel confident in identifying the opportunities that arise with each step forward. This book clarifies the interplay between adult learning and learning technology, and characterizes the cyclic exchange of information and opportunities that link these fields now and in the future. Understand the critical issues currently affecting adult learning Learn how technology is presenting both opportunities and challenges for the teaching and learning of adults in different contexts Examine recent research on learning technology for adult learners Discover how technological innovation can be applied now and how it will continue to shape the future of learning Adult learning is on the rise, and there is no mistaking technology's role; whether they're learning with or about technology, today's adult learners come with unique sets of needs and skills that demand specialized approaches. Traditional pedagogical techniques don't transfer directly, and learning technology requires its own unique approach to development and use. Technology and Innovation in Adult Learning equips practitioners to further adult learning and shape the future of the field, while providing a rich perspective for classroom inquiry and research.
Re-Imagining University Assessment in a Digital World by
This book is the first to explore the big question of how assessment can be refreshed and redesigned in an evolving digital landscape. There are many exciting possibilities for assessments that contribute dynamically to learning. However, the interface between assessment and technology is limited. Often, assessment designers do not take advantage of digital opportunities. Equally, digital innovators sometimes draw from models of higher education assessment that are no longer best practice. This gap in thinking presents an opportunity to consider how technology might best contribute to mainstream assessment practice. Internationally recognised experts provide a deep and unique consideration of assessment's contribution to the technology-mediated higher education sector. The treatment of assessment is contemporary and spans notions of 'assessment for learning', measurement and the roles of peer and self within assessment. Likewise the view of educational technology is broad and includes gaming, learning analytics and new media. The intersection of these two worlds provides opportunities, dilemmas and exemplars. This book serves as a reference for best practice and also guides future thinking about new ways of conceptualising, designing and implementing assessment.
Connecting Adult Learning and Knowledge Management by
This multidisciplinary book represents an initial attempt to connect adult learning and knowledge management in theory and practice. It provides educators, learners and organizational development professionals with new strategies and resources for developing active and effective pedagogies, which in turn prepare learners and practitioners to manage knowledge in organizations and higher education. To do so, it gathers contributions and case studies from a diverse, global team of authors and provides a theoretical and practical outline of new strategies and methods for facilitating adult teaching and learning. It also provides a fresh reading of active learning methods, by adopting a knowledge management viewpoint that is broadly applicable, whether helping students master content in university courses, or helping organizations learn and change. The book is divided into three main sections: a) methods and theories for adult teaching and learning; b) knowledge management in education; and c) case studies and best practices that consider classroom learning, higher education change, and organization development.
Liaison librarians can:
If the times suggested by the scheduler do not suit, please contact libinfo@federation.edu.au or call 1300 552 567 to arrange an appointment at a mutually convenient time.
As a Federation University staff member, you can request print books from the Federation University Library's collection using your login and password.
You can keep track of your borrowed and requested books through myLibrary.
You can also use myLibrary to make a Document Delivery request for books and journal articles not held in our collection. Read our Guide to Document Delivery for more information.
  |
Federation University Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the lands and waters where our campuses, centres and field stations are located and we pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and First Nations Peoples. |
