Subject Guides: Indigenous Studies: Indigenous Studies

About this Guide

This guide for aims to support students by providing tools to critically evaluate information, ensuring the use of credible and respectful sources. It outlines how to appropriately reference Indigenous Knowledges, acknowledging the cultural significance and intellectual property rights of Indigenous communities. Key resources recommended include academic journals, books by Indigenous authors, and databases focused on Indigenous issues and perspectives.

🛈 Cultural Advice
Some material in the library collections may contain terms that reflect authors’ views, or the period that the material was created, but may not be considered appropriate today. These views do not reflect the views of Federation University and are provided from a historical perspective.

Key Databases for Indigenous Studies

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,000 full-text periodicals, plus indexing and abstracts for more than 12,000 publications including books, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Covers many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. Some content goes back as far as 1887.
AIATSIS (Informit) This link opens in a new window
The AIATSIS Indigenous Studies Bibliography is complied at the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies Library. This is the premier database that indexes published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous studies.
Indigenous Australia Collection (Informit) This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database of the collections of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission Library. Includes abstracts for all videos, and some monographs and articles.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy provides educational institutions a selection of online video streaming films - including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases on a wide range of subjects including Australian Studies.

Your Library Team

Your liaison librarians can help with finding information for you assignments, how to use library databases, referencing, bibliographic management (EndNote), maintaining researcher ID's, keeping up to date on latest research, and much more. Contact the Library for any support you need.

Carl Buttler, Mt Helen Xandria Hughes, Gippsland

Contact the Library:

During opening hours:
- Phone: 1300 552 567
- Live chat (see the Need help? tab on the side of this page)
Any time
- Ask the Library online form (email reply by the end of the next business day)

Peer Support Desk

Senior students who can help with: academic writing, research, and general all-around study skills.

Contact the Peer Support Desk

Learning Skills Advisors

Can help with: essay writing, writing for other types of assessment tasks (reports, case studies, annotated bibliographies), thesis writing, referencing, study skills, exam preparation.

Contact a Learning Skills Advisor