Virtual Library Support and Services: Researcher
support

Support and services for staff, students and researchers. This guide will be updated regularly as the current situation changes.

Researchers

Campus Library buildings are now closed to the public, but items can be requested and sent to you. Items can be returned via reply paid mail.

On the library homepage, there is full access to online resources, for example, eBooks, Databases, and online journals.

Useful subject guides include:

Individual support

Liaison librarians are still available for individual appointments using tools such as Skype, Teams or over the phone. This is available for all staff and HDR students in areas such as research support, data management and referencing. Bookings may be made using the link on the Research guide home page. Alternatively, staff and HDRs can email or phone your liaison librarian to organise a time.

The chat reference service is still running for all staff and students and can be used as a first point of assistance, particularly for general enquiries.

General library enquiry services are available via 1300 552567, chat, and Ask the library.

COVID-19 Resources

Coronavirus Research Database. 

The Library is providing access, via Proquest, to the Coronavirus Research Database. 

Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses since 2004, and ongoing. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv. It will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned and will be available for the foreseeable future.

https://search-proquest-com.ezproxy.federation.edu.au/coronavirus

 

Dimensions COVID-19 publications. datasets and clinical trials

Updated daily, this file contains resource related to COVID-19

https://dimensions.figshare.com/articles/Dimensions_COVID-19_publications_datasets_and_clinical_trials/11961063

 

COVID-19 Resources from CAUL (Council of Australian University Librarians) vendors

CAUL will continue to update the list as further content becomes available. 

https://www.caul.edu.au/news/covid-19-resources-vendors

 

COVID-19 Open Research Dataset (CORD-19)

This page also offers a range of options for accessing the White House files. 

https://pages.semanticscholar.org/coronavirus-research 

Document delivery

During the Library shutdown period, the Library's Document Delivery Service is operating as normal.

However, as Libraries across the country (and the world) may have reduced access, it has become more difficult to source resources, particularly print items.  We also can no longer provide access to ‘In-Library Use Only’ materials.

Due to reduced library staffing on campus, access to our Wimmera and Berwick Library collections are limited. This may affect some Intercampus journal article/book chapter requests.

If you have any queries, please contact Document Delivery Services by phone: (03) 5327 9597 or email: docdel@federation.edu.au.