Virtual Library Support and Services: Student
support

Support and services for staff, students and researchers. This guide will be updated regularly as the current situation changes.

decorative header image, showing book-filled Library shelves on laptop computer screen

Welcome to Federation University Library

Welcome to Federation University Library.

This guide has been developed to support staff and students while campus library buildings are closed as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. Although the Library is currently closed to the public, librarians are still available to support staff and students and can be contacted by phone, email, or chat.

This guide will be updated as the situation evolves, and information becomes available.

You can use the tabs at the top to navigate this guide.

Please feel free to contact us if you need more help. See the 'Contact' box to the right for ways to get in touch or browse our FAQs.

Logging into Federation University

To access Federation University online resources, e.g., email, my student centre, journal articles, databases or eBooks, enter your username (student ID number) and current password. You can use Password Self-Service to change your password anytime. Contact ITS Service Desk Portal with password issues.  

When requesting books and DVDs you will need to enter your username (student ID number) and current password, and select the pick up location "postal delivery". More information can be found in the Borrowing section of this guide (below).

MyLibrary! app

MyLibrary! is an app that you can use to manage your library account on your mobile phone or tablet.

Download the MyLibrary! app from the Apple App Store or Google Play Store to your mobile phone to access the Federation University Library wherever you are.

  • Scan search book barcodes
  • Keyword search the catalogue
  • Request items to be posted to you
  • Receive notifications your item has arrived
  • Renew loans
  • Borrow using the app
  • Check for library updates on social media

 

Borrowing

Postal loans

(within Australia only while campus library buildings are closed due to COVID-19)

You can request items for postal loan online through QuickSearch or the Library Catalogue. You will need to enter your username (university ID number) and current password.

Select the pick up location "postal delivery" when requesting items. Items will be posted to you at the address in your My Library account or use the "special instructions" box to add your current address. The item will be posted with a Reply Paid return label for you to post back for free before the due date.

While we are providing postal loans only, we will extend due dates of all current loans where possible. In order to keep items circulating, the current demerits system still applies.  Overdue penalties accrued on returned items due to Australia Post and other delays will be waived. If you would like to return your items you can use Reply Paid 663 address provided below or the label provided when we post items to you. Please contact us if you would like us to provide a postal bag and label.  You can return items on campus at Berwick, Gippsland, Mt Helen and SMB.

Reply Paid 663

Federation Library Returns

Federation University

PO BOX 663

BALLARAT  VIC  3353

Using the Library Catalogue to access postal delivery

  1. Access the Library Catalogue from the Federation University Library page (tab on the right of the QuickSearch box).
  2. Enter search terms to find your item, and then click on the title of the item to access the full record.
  3. Select Request.
  4. Enter your username and password when request page opens.
  5. From the drop down menu select postal delivery as the pickup location. Your books and DVDs will be posted to you so please ensure your address is correct in My Student Centre

While we are providing postal loans only, we will extend due dates of all current loans where possible.

In order to keep items circulating, the current demerits system still applies. 

Your borrowed items can be returned to your nearest campus library via the book return chute, although please note, not all campus libraries have outdoor returns chutes. Please contact your campus library for further information on returning items directly to the library.

If you would like to return your items by post,  you can use the address below, or the label provided when we post items to you.

Reply Paid 663
Federation Library Returns
Federation University Australia
PO BOX 663
BALLARAT VIC 3353

Please contact the Library if you would like us to provide a postal bag and label.

Electronic delivery of print material

Undergraduate students

You can request electronic copies of journal articles and book chapters which are only available in print. Contact the Library for further assistance.

Postgraduate students

Use the Document Delivery service to request web delivery of journal articles and book chapters only available in print or not held by Federation University.  For information on other library services for postgraduates see the Library Staff and postgraduates page.

BONUS+ items

The BONUS+ service is again operational after being suspended for a period at the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Federation University students and staff can once again search for and request books from BONUS+ participating libraries. There are currently eight active members (ANU, AUT, Griffith, Massey, Murdoch, Newcastle, Tasmania and Federation University) contributing records for millions of books to the shared catalogue at http://bonus.caval.edu.au/

If you wish to request a book that's available from a BONUS participating library, you will be prompted to enter your name and the barcode on your Federation University ID card. You then need to select from one of three locations closest to where you live – Ballarat, Berwick, or Churchill. When your request arrives from the BONUS+ participating library it will be posted to you at the address in your My Library account.

BONUS+ books can be returned to Reply Paid 663, Federation Library Returns, Federation University, PO BOX 663, BALLARAT, VIC, 3353 or use the label provided when we post items to you. You can also return items on campus at Berwick, Gippsland and Mt Helen or your local partner institute library if you are a partner student.

InfoPoint staff are available via Chat from the Library Homepage or email at https://libanswers.federation.edu.au, or via phone at 1300 552 567 if you have any questions about using the BONUS+ service.

Post-graduate students including HDRs and staff are also eligible for document delivery via your student or staff My Library account.

Library services for Off-campus/ Online students

The Federation University Library offers a number of resources you can use for finding research information:

  • Catalogue for books, DVDs and eBooks. (Books and DVDs posted within Australia only)
  • eBooks for electronic books.
  • QuickSearch which searches the Catalogue, eBooks and selected Databases for full-text journal articles.
  • Databases which are searchable collections of journals, journal articles, book chapters, video streaming, conference proceedings, annual reports, case studies, business reports, image collections and more.

It is recommended that you read a Subject Guide in your field of research to identify subject-specific databases and other relevant resources.

 

Contact the Library

           

    
 

How can we help?

Library staff can help with

  • Placing holds
  • Borrowing queries
  • Renewals
  • Posting items to you
  • Developing strategies to find information
  • Evaluating information
  • Using databases to find journal articles
  • Searching tricks to get the best information quickly
  • Referring you to support services for help with academic writing

Ask a Librarian today! (response by email)

Book a live online 30-minute appointment

How can we help?

ASK Desk: Ask a SAL

Are you confused about expectations at university?

Do you want to get better marks?

Student Academic Leaders (SALs) can help you with…

  • Digital literacy (email, Moodle, Turnitin)
  • Study skills (time management, oral presentations)
  • Interpreting assignment topics
  • Essay and report structure
  • Referencing
  • Exam preparation
  • Referral to other services
  • And more!

 

Access the ASK service online
Monday – Friday, 8am – 6pm

Library Twitter feed: News and tips