Online Student Library Services: Databases
& Journals

FedUni students who study online can use this guide to learn how to access Library resources. For more resources, consult the relevant subject guide.
Subjects: How do I..?

What are Databases and Journals?

Databases are searchable collections of journals, journal articles, book chapters, video streaming, conference proceedings, annual reports, case studies, business reports, image collections and more. Databases usually focus on certain subject areas and hold material to do with that subject. The short videos below and to the right provide a quick overview of what databases are and why you might use them.

Your subject guide will suggest the most relevant databases to search for your purposes. If you know the name of the database that you want to use, you can access it directly using the A-Z Databases list.

journal (also known as a periodical or serial) is a publication that contains articles on a particular subject. Peer-reviewed journals are journals that contain articles of a high quality. Peer-reviewed articles go through an extensive editorial process before publication.

How do I find journals and newspaper articles?

Are you looking for a specific journal? Search via the Catalogue or e-Journals A-Z using the journal title. Watch a brief video tutorial on finding journals to learn more.

Are you looking for newspaper articles? Search via the A-Z databases for newspapers.

If you are searching by topic or keyword, use QuickSearch or subject specific databases (suggested by your subject guide) using key words. The short tutorials below will teach you how to use QuickSearch more effectively.

Researching Basics

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar Search

You can link Google Scholar to Federation Library journals in full text. To learn how, watch this short video.