Online Student Library Services: Library
Services

FedUni students who study online can use this guide to learn how to access Library resources. For more resources, consult the relevant subject guide.
Subjects: How do I..?

Borrowing

Postal loans: Eligible Postal Delivery (within Australia only)

You can request items for postal loan online through QuickSearch or the Library Catalogue. You need to obtain your university ID card and sign-in before you place a request. You can apply for a student ID card online using the CaptureMe Portal.

Select the pick up location "eligible postal delivery" when requesting items. Items will be posted to you at the address on your library record.

Using the Library Catalogue to access eligible postal delivery

  1. Access the Library Catalogue from the Federation University Library page (tab on the right of the QuickSearch box).
  2. Enter search terms to find your item, and then click on the title of the item to access the full record.
  3. Select Request.
  4. Enter your username and password when request page opens.
  5. From the drop down menu select Eligible postal delivery as the pickup location. Your books will be posted to you so please ensure your address in My Student Centre is correct. 

Conditions of borrowing

  • If the book is listed as AVAILABLE you will receive it within 3-5 working days. Check your Federation email account for notification. 
  • If a book is ON LOAN, you can follow the above process to be placed in queue for when the book is available.
  • Please note that Federation Textbook, Reference, Multimedia, Reserve or Special Collection items are limited to on-campus lending.    

Loan periods, renewals and late returns

Do you reside outside of Australia?

  • Print or media items will not be posted overseas
  • Any items requested via BONUS+ will not be posted overseas
  • You can request a copy of the table of contents of books to check whether you would like a chapter delivered to you.

Electronic delivery of print material

Undergraduate students

You can request electronic copies of journal articles and book chapters which are only available in print. Contact the Library for further assistance.

Postgraduate students

Use the Document Delivery service to request web delivery of journal articles and book chapters only available in print or not held by Federation University.  For information on other library services for postgraduates see the Library Staff and postgraduates page.

Loading ...

Library services for Off-campus/ Online students

The Federation University Library offers a number of resources you can use for finding research information:

  • Catalogue for books and eBooks. (Books only posted within Australia)
  • eBooks for electronic books.
  • QuickSearch which searches the Catalogue, eBooks and selected Databases for full-text journal articles.
  • Databases which are searchable collections of journals, journal articles, book chapters, video streaming, conference proceedings, annual reports, case studies, business reports, image collections and more.

It is recommended that you read a Subject Guide in your field of research to identify subject-specific databases and other relevant resources.

What can librarians do for you?

Librarians can work with you on:

  • how and where to start researching your topic
  • effective use of databases and the internet
  • finding, evaluating and incorporating information
  • using the Library's collections
  • citing and referencing to avoid plagiarism
  • managing your research data

For more information contact the library