Skip to main content

EndNote for researchers: Adding
References

Adding References to your EndNote Library

There are various ways of adding references to your library. You can manually enter reference information or you can digitally transfer records from various electronic databases.
Correct data entry is essential for EndNote to work well.

Adding References Manually

Click References > New Reference (or use the New Reference screenshot of New Reference button icon).  

1. Your main library window will change to a new empty reference template.

2. Choose the type of reference you are creating by selecting from the Reference Type drop-down menu.

screenshot showing Reference Type drop-down in EndNote

3. Start typing reference details into corresponding fields by clicking on each field or by using the Tab key to jump to the next field.

4. Click the close button on the New Reference window. Note: if the library is expanded to the full window, click the grey cross, not the red cross.                                                     

                                                                     screenshot indicating button to close reference record                                 

5. Click Yes to save, No to discard, or Cancel to remain in the editing window.
Tick the Do not display this message again box then click Yes to have EndNote automatically save your records when closing.

screenshot showing Save dialog when closing record

*Hint:

  • Some text you enter will appear in red if this is the first time you have entered it. If there are existing records in your library EndNote will try to provide auto-complete suggestions as you type. Simply keep typing to over-write them.

  • Put each author on a new line and use the format of “Surname, First Name”. Be sure to include the comma.

  • If the author is an organization, include a comma at the end of the name (e.g. “Federation University,”). If your corporate author name includes a comma in the name itself, use two commas in place of the first comma (e.g. “Department of Agriculture,, Fisheries and Forestry” )

  • Generally avoid using any punctuation, labels, or text styles that are normally a part of a bibliographic style. EndNote will format the style automatically. However, include discipline specific styles (e.g. italics for species names) within the title field. EndNote will not alter any text within that title field.

Adding references electronically - Databases

References can often be downloaded directly into an EndNote library using a database’s Direct Export feature. This is the most commonly used method and is supported by many databases.

General procedure:

  1. The exact method for using direct export will vary a little depending on the database you are using. The general steps are as follows:
  2. Open the library database and conduct your search.
  3. Select the references you wish to transfer to EndNote (by ticking the boxes or adding to a folder etc.).
  4. Look for an Export, Save or Download option to export the reference directly to EndNote (this may be on the results screen, or you may need to view your selected items folder or click Save to find this).
  5. Export to EndNote.
  6. The records will be transferred to your EndNote Library                                                                                                     
  7. Check each record in the preview tab. Edit if necessary to ensure quality.

Some databases with this feature include EBSCOhost databases, Informit databases, Web of Science, Scopus, JSTOR, Science Direct, and the Cochrane Library.