Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Historical Collections in Teaching: Federation University Historical Collections

This guide suggests ways to combine Object-Based Learning (OBL) teaching philosophies with Federation University Historical Collections to create engaging learning activities.

Federation University Australia Historical Collection Samples

Geoffrey Blainey Research Centre

The GBRC at the Mount Helen Campus includes the Geoffrey Blainey Mining Collection, the Federation University Australia Special Collection, Federation University Australia Historical Collection, and a supervised reading room.

Contact the GBRC to negotiate when and where collection items can be accessed (gbrc@federation.edu.au) quoting the VFED number in the ISBN field. Objects  in off-site storage will not be available immediately. 

Tuesday and  Friday 9.30am - 1.00 pm
Wednesday  and Thursday - 1.00 pm to 5.00 pm


And by appointment

Victorian Collections - Federation University Collections

Collections Victoria displays digitized searchable images of the Federation University Art and Historical Collections.

They are useful when browsing and generating ideas for Object-Based Learning lessons.

Gippsland Regional Studies Collection

The GRSC at the Gippsland Campus facilitates research into, and interpretation of, not only the Gippsland region, but also of rural and regional Australia. Present collection strengths include the history, literature, Aboriginal cultures, education, land use, environment and natural resources, and social structure of Gippsland.

Contact the GRSC to negotiate when and where collection items can be accessed. Our email is grsc@federation.edu.au

Monday: 1pm - 4pm

And by appointment

Federation Research Online -The Gippsland and Regional Studies Collection

Federation Research Online displays digitized searchable images from the Gippsland and Regional Studies Collections. 

They are useful when browsing and generating ideas for Object-Based Learning lessons.