This is the "QuickSearch
Introduction" page of the "QuickSearch userguide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

QuickSearch userguide   Tags: databases, how do i..?, journal_articles, searching  

How to use the Library discovery tool QuickSearch to find books, full text articles and more.
Last Updated: Mar 6, 2014 URL: http://libguides.federation.edu.au/searching_library Print Guide RSS Updates

QuickSearch Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is QuickSearch?

QuickSearch covers:

  • all FedUni book and electronic book titles (everything from FedUni catalogue)
  • all FedUni library collections no matter where or what type of material
  • all our journals and e-journals by title
  • most of our journal articles (except a small number of specialised databases)
  • FedUni ResearchOnline 

Sign in for full functionality. You can save searches and articles to your eShelf, review and tag items, check your library records and more.

Refine searches to show results by availability, full text or peer reviewed articles only, year, or subject.  

If you prefer you can still search the Library catalogue, or any of the databases by themselves too. A handful of databases are unable to be searched within QuickSearch, these can be searched individually (see list ). 

 Primo coloured band

 

What happened to the Catalogue?

The Catalogue still exists, you can either search it through QuickSearch or go back to the native interface. The Catalogue link is on QuickSearch header.

You can also search for specific databases through the link to Databases A-Z, or electronic journals via e-Journals A-Z link (green arrow).

 

Articles Search tab

The Articles tab searches across a predefined set of subject specific databases covering major subject areas of the University. (The same as NaviGatePlus- our predecessor search engine).  

Searching via Articles is useful

  • If you are looking only for articles; the results will be mostly articles.
  • If you are looking for results from a specific subject area of databases, not as broad as QuickSearch.
  • If you are Ok with a mix of Full text and non Full text. You can not narrow to only full text.
Searching via QuickSearch is useful:
  • If you are wanting only full text articles. You can narrow to Full text only.
  • As you can see a range of results including e-Books, books and articles. Broader range of material than Article search.
 

LibChat and LibAnswers

.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip