Referencing styles

FedCite provides general advice on the academic referencing styles required at Federation. Includes guidelines for referencing with APA, MLA & Chicago styles.

Remember to always check with your school/lecturer to find out which style they require.

Study Skills - Referencing
Everything you need to know about citing sources of information and generating reference lists to successfully complete your next assignment. This section contains FAQs, how-to guides and examples to help you get started.

Referencing and citation guides in our collection

Good stuff from other universities

APA Referencing Guide (University of Southern Queensland)
APA Referencing Style Examples (University of New England)
Citation Machine
Citation Machine automatically generates citations in MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian.
Citing and Referencing
Monash University referencing and citation guide.
Griffith University Referencing Tool
Very useful, covers APA & MLA.
How to reference (links out to University of Sydney website)
This tutorial will show you how to get started in referencing, using the APA style as an example. Includes printable copy in English and Chinese.
more...less...
iResearch materials, developed at the University of Sydney Library are Copyright © University of Sydney and can be accessed at the University of Sydney Library's, iResearch: information skills for life website: http://sydney.edu.au/library/elearning/index.html
MLA Formatting & Style Guide (Purdue University)

Referencing videos

Managing your references

What is EndNote?

EndNote is a reference management system that enables you to:

grab references from Library QuickSearch, journal databases, library catalogues, and other sources
use EndNote to insert a formatted reference list into your own documents
organise and manage your references (re-use a textbook reference, for example)
find references using one computer, insert your reference list later on another computer

To Access EndNote and set up an account: My EndNote Web

For Undergraduates, read more information about how to use EndNote Web in this guide.

For Researchers, the EndNote Desktop guide will assist you in using, managing and sharing your referencing data.

Turnitin

Avoid potential plagiarism by using Turnitin to compare your work with internet content, journal databases and other students' work and receive a report on similarities.

Access Turnitin via a Moodle unit. Academic Support provide student guidance on Turnitin.

Academic and Teaching Staff: Referencing & Citation