Skip to main content

QuickSearch userguide: QuickSearch Introduction

 

What does QuickSearch do?

QuickSearch searches:

  • all FedUni book and electronic book titles (everything from the FedUni catalogue)
  • all FedUni library collections no matter where or what type of material
  • all FedUni journals and e-journals by title
  • most journal articles (except a small number of specialised databases)
  • FedUni ResearchOnline 

Sign in for full functionality.

  • You can save searches and articles to your eShelf, review and tag items, check your library records and more

Refine searches to show results by availability, full text or peer reviewed articles only, year, or subject.  

  • If you are wanting only full text articles. You can narrow to Full text only through "find full-text" link.

Can I still search the Catalogue?

Yes the Catalogue still exists!

  • you can either search it through QuickSearch by clinking on the Catalogue button or
  • go back to the Library homepage. The Catalogue link is located on the QuickSearch header.

 

Can I search databases or

E-Journals?

You can also search for specific databases or Journals by clinking on the relevant button at the top of the screen.

 

What does the Articles tab do?

What does the Articles tab do?

The Articles tab searches across a predefined set of subject specific databases covering major subject areas of FedUni.  

Searching via Articles is useful

  • If you are looking only for articles; the results will be mostly articles.
  • If you are looking for results from a specific subject area of databases, not as broad as QuickSearch.
  • If you are OK with a mix of Full text and non Full text. You can not narrow to only full text.

Disclaimer: The QuickSearch interface has undergone an update. The change is largely cosmetic, with some functions re-named, the limiters moved to the right side of the page, and access to full-text through "find full-text" link. Updated videos will be coming soon.